Five more states have passed marijuana legalization initiatives.
Mississippi and South Dakota voters approved legalizing medical marijuana, joining 33 other states and the District of Columbia.
Adult possession of cannabis was legalized in Arizona, Montana, New Jersey, and South Dakota. These states now join the District of Columbia and the other 11 states that have already approved the recreational use of the plant.
Mississippi’s constitutional amendment is one we will need to watch. It establishes a state-licensed system of dispensaries for patients to obtain cannabis products. The measure mandates that State officials begin providing licenses for retailers no later than August 15, 2021.
Arizona voters approved Prop. 207, a statewide ballot initiative to legalize, regulate, and tax the adult use of marijuana. Prop. 207 lays the groundwork for a regulatory system that will allow for licensed commercial production and retail sale of cannabis to adults age 21 or older.
- Possession is limited to one ounce of marijuana.
- Adults may grow up to six plants for personal use.
- Allows for expungement of marijuana-related offenses.
- Imposes a 16% excise tax on sales; funds to be earmarked for public programs.
Montana shows its support for adult-use marijuana. Voters in Montana have passed Initiative 190, which allows for the use, production, and sale of cannabis by adults. Voters additionally passed Constitutional Initiative 118, which establishes a legal age requirement of 21 years for those who possess, grow, or purchase cannabis.
- Possession is limited to one ounce.
- Adults may grow up to four mature plants for personal use.
South Dakotans say no more Reefer Madness by passing a pair of ballot initiatives that legalize adult-use marijuana: Constitutional Amendment A and Initiative Measure 26.
- Constitutional Amendment A allows adults to purchase and possess up to one ounce of cannabis and to grow up to three plants for personal use.
- Measure 26 permits qualified patients to possess and home-cultivate cannabis for medical purposes and establishes a state-regulated retail system for medical cannabis sales.
- Measure 26 also establishes a medical cannabis program for patients diagnosed with serious health conditions and a doctor’s recommendation. The dispensaries will be overseen by the Department of Health. The measure goes into effect on July 21, 2021.
The majority of New Jersey voters decided in favor of Question 1 asking if they approved of amending the State’s Constitution to legalize cannabis for adults 21 years of age or older.
The State Commission created to oversee its medical cannabis program is tasked with overseeing the personal use cannabis market. Cannabis products would be subject to state sales tax; and if authorized by the legislature, a municipality may pass a local ordinance to charge a local tax as well.
This is a developing story.
This content is restricted to site members. If you are an existing user, please log in. New users may register below.